Northwestern Debate Society takes home 14th championship

    The Northwestern Debate Society beat Emory University on Monday en route to earning the title of National Debate Tournament champions for the 14th time, making the university the winningest team in National Debate Tournament history.

    Stephanie Spies and Matt Fisher, both Weinberg seniors, led the pack of 22 students, coaches and alumni in attendance by placing first in the pairs debate at The University of Texas-Dallas. They were just one of three Wildcat duos to enter the tournament ranked in the top ten in the country.

    Program coordinator Luke Hill, SESP ’05, has led the debate team for three years and had participated as an undergraduate. He said that seeing championship wins as a student and then as coordinator gave him a great sense of pride and accomplishment.

    “Working together for a year to achieve the goal of winning the championship was an amazing and fun experience,” he said.


    blog comments powered by Disqus
    Please read our Comment Policy.